Already Enrolled?
Sign In Here
Forgotten your password?

TOPIC 1 : OVERVIEW continued

Unit standards and qualifications

In New Zealand qualifications are organized into a ‘National Qualifications Framework’. The Framework starts at level 1 which is a school level and goes right up to level 7 and 8 which is university level.

Each unit standard has a level assigned to it which indicates where it fits on the National Qualifications Framework

Use standards to assess standards performance

Each unit standard also has a credit value. The credit value of each unit standard is shown on the title page.






Qualifications are made up of a series of unit standards - the building blocks of the overall qualification. Gaining the qualification requires gaining a certain number of credits and so, if you award someone a unit standard, you contribute towards their gaining a qualification. You will not assess the candidate for all unit standards – only the ones you are qualified to assess.